Open Forum

View Only

newbie seeking HELP!!

• 1.  newbie seeking HELP!!

Posted 06-15-2016 09:13

I am a brand new Theatre Teacher! 

Let me be VERY specific.  I am a brand new English Teacher, with ABSOLUTELY NO THEATRE EXPERIENCE, that is now teaching Theatre!  I accepted my position and began teaching English, Theatre 1 & 2, as well as sponsoring my school's Drama Club the last 9 weeks of this school semester.  So I now have 9 weeks of experience... I will just say, I made it through and am looking forward to PLANNING for a successful school year in the fall. 

My school has a great set up for theatre (black box, court yard with a small auditorium, regular auditorium, fully stocked wardrobe room and such).  Unfortunately we have had a bad run with Theatre for one reason or another.  Oh and I use a regular classroom(small) 90 minute blocks but can book our black box or auditorium when I need it... 2-Theatre 1 classes (20-28 students), 1-Theatre 2 (10 students).

This past 9 weeks I have used the books (Stage and the School) that our school has, BYU's database and other internet resources to help me teach them something ... but I would like a solid plan for next year.  I have learned so much already and am willing to take the summer to learn what I need to.  I am volunteering at our Governor's School for the Arts, high school Theatre Camps, going to a Shakespeare in the classroom workshop and.... well that is where I am reaching out to this community.

If anyone would mind sharing what they do for their Theatre classes!  I mean anything and everything. 

I don't even know what the structure of a Theatre class looks like (bell ringer? structured lessons all the time? testing? exit tickets? you can see I am trying to structure like an English class here).