Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  High School version of musicals

Posted 07-31-2018 10:51
    I have been directing high school musicals for 27 years and every time my musical director comments on the difficulty of the music.  Over 27 years I have worked with many different music directors (at last count 12) and all of them say the same thing.

In addition, I find that some of the length of these Broadway shows are quite long. I often find myself thinking, I wish this song was shorter, or the big dance break wasn't in this song, or couldn't this show just be shorter?  

I might be alone in my feelings, but I wish MTI and Tams and R&H and everyone else would consider the value/need of creating a "high school" version of musicals.  The Junior versions are so popular and really are a great resource for so many programs throughout the world.  Those are meant for students in grades elementary to middle school. 

The next jump is to produce the Broadway show with high school students, but high school students are not necessarily that much more sophisticated, trained, or prepared to tackle the requirements of a full Broadway score.  

Every summer I direct a show at a camp for elementary and middle school. I receive a huge resource packet with prop lists, cue sheets, choreography ideas, graphic designs for publicity, rehearsal and accompaniment CD's, ways to connect the literature to other concepts, and the list goes on.  While I do not need all of it, nor use all of it, it sure is nice to have.  

Then in the fall I direct the musical for the high school.  What comes in my package? Scripts and scores.  That's it.  

Two months ago I was directing actors who were in 8th grade and had so much assistance.  Then I switch to direct 9th grade students and nada.  It is shocking to me.

So, if any of the companies that hold the rights and licensing for Broadway musicals are reading this, I for one would love to see you develop a high school version for some of the shows.