Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Parent Meetings after Casting a Show

Posted 09-12-2017 13:19

Good Morning,

I wanted to know if you require parents to attend an "orientation" meeting after you production is cast?  I have been holding parent meetings for many, many years, and lately I am wondering if I need to have them?  I tried having just new families attend a required meeting, but with schedule conflicts, etc. the attendance was really low.  I always just end up sending out my meeting notes and power points to everyone anyway.....  (Though I am not sure if anyone reads them.)  What do you all do?

Ginny Schreiber

Middle School Drama

Forest Ridge School

425-679-0143 | www.forestridge.org

image001.png@01D3200D.7B116E80

• 2.  RE: Parent Meetings after Casting a Show

Posted 09-12-2017 13:54
    Hello Ginny,
    We actually have the meeting before auditions. 
    The parent meeting is *tonight* as a matter of fact... and auditions are tomorrow! It's always the night before. 
    We do not require it, but HIGHLY recommend it for all parents of students interested in auditioning or doing crew. 
    We give a parent contract out that clearly states all parents must volunteer in SOME way... every parent is different, but if they cannot help in even a small way, their children cannot participate. 
    We've obviously had a few minor exceptions (students in group homes, for example)... but the majority of the parents "get it" and are on-board with helping. 
    I'm clear that the program is entirely student-led, but that it takes a village and we simply need parent involvement to make everything happen and spread out the adult responsibilities. 
    That said, I've noticed that having meetings like this and getting all required paperwork out of the way BEFORE auditions ensures it actually gets done. 
    After auditions, everyone gets a bit more lax. 
    It also helps our retention rate of students that are not cast that choose to stay involved by doing crew.