Open Forum

View Only

Moth Storytelling Videos: Share videos appropriate for MIddle & High School

• 1.  Moth Storytelling Videos: Share videos appropriate for MIddle & High School

Posted 08-16-2018 10:30
    I teach storytelling using the Moth and conduct story slams at school.  It's an amazing way to get the kids up on stage, without having to memorize, and I teach story structure along with it.  I like to do it at the beginning of the year so we can get to know each other and so the kids can relate to being honest and open in front of an audience before they pick up scripted work.

I am new to teaching Middle School this year -- I've been doing these stories in high school the past few years.  I like to show the videos (we also listen to the audio-only stories,) so my students can SEE facial expression, audience connection, composure.  I reached out to the Moth's organization to find out about videos that are appropriate to show in Middle School and they responded with audio versions that have now been tagged with a PG rating.  Some of those audio versions have videos to go along with them and I put one on yesterday.  Unfortunately, it contained some profanity and I wrongly assumed it would be OK without listening to it first.  I teach in the deep south and what can pass for OK in NYC, does not pass down here.  An occasional curse word, a "G-d," doesn't even fly.

I was hoping to start a conversation here with other teachers who use The Moth so we can share videos and experiences.  If you have not used it, and would like me to share my lesson plans, I am happy to do so.  It's a great alternative, as well, if you have limited funds to produce shows as it is free and original work!  And you can charge money to attendees and use it as a no-cost fundraiser.

Here's my list so far of appropriate VIDEOs:
    Bad Haircut
    https://youtu.be/lLNTSjlZ0z8?list=PLOPA9EJqyfur_2nsyyR9qjf2AFccvjeWp

Video about the Moth: