Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Novice Theatre Tech Advice.

Posted 11-04-2020 05:48

So I'm a theatre tech for my high school but I've only been there for less than a year. What things should I have already learned? And what things should I keep in my bag/kit?

------------------------------
    daya ghana
    Unit 2D Yonkers NY

• 2.  RE: Novice Theatre Tech Advice.

Posted 11-04-2020 09:17
    This depends on a lot of factors. Everyone has a different starting point and the volume of events / productions available to work on dictate much of your learning opportunities. Get as familiar with as much of your facility and its equipment as possible. Realize that, although most people get into tech because they enjoy working on the equipment, it is ultimately about working WITH people to achieve a common goal. Be flexible, positive, and work safely. Ask questions, and research the things you do not know or wish to know more about. There is so much content and resources online these days, it really opens up things for individuals, even if they do not have a mentor or someone to provide great training. 

Best of luck to you. Keep trying to learn something new each day. Try to see things from the point of view of another team member or department. It can be eye-opening. 

~Dave

David Simpson
    Performing Arts Center Manager
    East China Schools
    East China MI

• 3.  RE: Novice Theatre Tech Advice.

Posted 11-05-2020 09:07
    Teaching Tech You Never Learned provides basic info, projects and rubrics for set, lighting, sound, publicity, makeup and costuming. Then there are plenty of books out there to lead you beyond the basics.