Jo Lane

Theatre Teacher and Director,
Roosevelt High School

Contact Details

Theatre Teacher and Director,
Roosevelt High School
Platinum Member


Jo Strom Lane (Artistic Director and Theatre Teacher) BFA in theatre education from Univ. of AZ and MA in Theatre Production from Central WA Univ., teaches Theatre Arts at Roosevelt High School. Formerly the Artistic Director for Fourteenth Avenue Players at Winterhaven (K-8) School for 8 years, Jo also previously taught middle school in Tucson, AZ for 3 years where she co-founded Opening Act Theatre Company as a summer theatre training program for young adults. She brought OATC to Portland and ran the summer program successfully for 10 years before transitioning it to Roosevelt HS as its resident production company where she has served as the Artistic Director since 2007. Jo has worked in several community theatres across AZ in acting, directing, and technical theatre. Jo toured the U.S. and Canada as an actor and stagehand. She has taught theatre arts grades K-college. Jo is also published nationally in theatre education and has conducted theatre workshops for OTEA (President 2009-2011), EdTA, and ITS. She is an Oregon Thespian State Board Member and has earned the Oregon Melba Day Sparks Henning Hall of Fame Award (2014). She is also a proud ITS Alumni!


University of Connecticut
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Arts Administration Certificate, 2017
Arts Administration
2016 To 2017

Central Washington University
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
MA, 2006
Theatre Production
2002 To 2006

University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona, United States
BFA, 1996
Theatre Education & English Education
1993 To 1996

Northern Arizona University
1992 To 1993

Yavapai Community College
1991 To 1992

Job History

Roosevelt HS--Portland Public Schools
Theatre Teacher
June 2007 - present

Winterhaven School--Portland Public Schools
English and Theatre Arts Teacher
August 1999 - June 2007

Tortolita Middle School--Marana Unified School District
GEM Teacher (Gifted Education)
August 1996 - May 1999