Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Middle School Lesson Plan/s for 1st day of a Trimester

Posted 10-31-2018 12:48
    Hello All,

I'm just finishing my 1st trimester of the year and I'm looking for some ideas to start the next Trimester in a week.  Starting class this past Trimester, in August, didn't work like I'd hoped.  I'm a first year teacher at a Intermediate school, teaching 6th and 7 grade Theatre Students.  I'm looking for lesson plans or activities to introduce "Theatre" to students - what it is, what it isn't, why they should care about theatre and most importantly to light a flame, set the tone for the semester and excite them about theatre.  I know many of you are busy putting up show right now, BTW (Break Legs) but if you have time to respond with a quick post I'd be grateful.

With gratitude,

Russ

------------------------------
    Russell Saxton
    Theatre Instructor
    Dixie State University
    St George UT

• 2.  RE: Middle School Lesson Plan/s for 1st day of a Trimester

Posted 11-01-2018 07:52

Russ,

This is not in any way original; however, it worked for my middle school kids. I taught in a large school where the beginning middle school kids were not likely to know each other (they came from 5 or 6 different feeder schools)- and were in a class of about 55.  On the first day I started by introducing myself and then told them to put themselves in alphabetical order by last name- without "talking, writing, pointing at written letters, or using any language known to humans." If students had the same last names, they had to go on to using first names, etc, etc. I gave a place for the line of students to start, and that was it. At the end of 15-20 minutes I would check the line against my attendance sheet.

After the activity, we discussed thatL

1) Theatre is about communication and passing on messages. That can involve talking, but it also involves the whole of your person.