Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Theatre Class Units of Study

Posted 11-18-2021 09:17

Hello!

I have been teaching Theatre and Advanced Theatre for a few years now and I am working on re-vamping some of my older materials.  I inherited a lot from the previous teacher and I don't love it all.
    I'm curious what "Units" others teach?  I know there are standards and curriculum and all that, but does anyone else base their course on units?  For example, with my Beginning Theatre class, I do a unit on production roles, a unit on pantomime, a unit on the audition process and the monologue.  In Advanced, I do a unit on Shakespeare, a unit on Stage Combat, etc.  But I need fresh ideas!  What units do you all teach??

------------------------------
    Amber Hugus
    Seneca Valley High School
    PA

• 2.  RE: Theatre Class Units of Study

Posted 11-19-2021 07:29
    In my advanced class I always do Michael Shurtleff's Audition in conjunction with undirected scenes. Last year I added Mask, Radio, and Devising units and expanded my mini unit on commedia. In my first-year class we do units on voice, body, concentration/relaxation, and imagination. This year I added a unit on Musical theatre, and right now we're working on Chamber Theatre -- adapting a literary text into a performance. Last year I included a monologue-writing unit that culminated in the students creating and performing an original monologue based on a historical photo. In the second semester it's all Stanislavski technique which we view through the lens of a study play. Right now I'm using She Kills Monsters, but in the past I have also used Picnic and All My Sons. I usually do the Viewpoints in one or both of these classes as well.

Cassy Maxton-Whitacre
    Theatre Department Coordinator
    Shenandoah Valley Governor's School
    VA

• 3.  RE: Theatre Class Units of Study

Posted 11-19-2021 08:04
    Hello,
    Here are some additional units you didn't mention that I use for various levels: