Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Starting an Elementary School Drama Program

Posted 06-25-2015 04:24

This is my first year teaching and I have been blessed with the opportunity with starting a new theatre program at an elementary school. I have been doing researching and so far I have not found much. I am stuck on how I can split up the work amongst 7 different grades. I will be teaching K-6. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!
    ------------------------------
    Berta Ordonez Cortes
    Drama Teacher
    Black Mountain Elementary School
    Scottsdale AZ

• 2.  RE: Starting an Elementary School Drama Program

Posted 06-26-2015 09:56

Congratulations!

I have taught Elementary Drama, AKA Creative Dramatics, for the last 14 years and I love it! Don't be afraid to overlap concepts between grade. The State of Texas has a breakdown of Essential Skills and Knowledge goals for K-12 Theatre that might be a good starting point for you.

http://ritter.tea.state.tx.us/rules/tac/ch117toc.html

Take a look at that and message me if you want more details on what I did in my classroom.

Best,

Matt

Matt Ludlam
    Owner/Instructor
    Ludlam Dramatics
    Flower Mound TX

• 3.  RE: Starting an Elementary School Drama Program

Posted 06-27-2015 13:45

First of all, I am so excited for your school! Every school should give these Elementary students the opportunity to expand their imagination, now more than ever!!

The absolute best website I have found is DramaNotebook.com! It is full of ideas, curriculum, simple plays, and creative Dramatics games. It does cost a little, but it is worth every penny! You will be able to plan your entire year!! 

Suzanne Craig
    HS Theatre Directory
    David Lipscomb High School
    Nashville TN

• 4.  RE: Starting an Elementary School Drama Program

Posted 06-26-2015 10:54