Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Moving Heads for Follow Spots

Posted 03-01-2015 09:24

Hello all! I'm hoping someone out here can help me with this...

I'm starting on Les Mis which will be my show next fall and am interested in investing in the purchase or rental of some moving heads. For the purposes of Les Mis I need them for spotlight purposes on one or two actors at a time and don't necessarily need them to have Gobo Abilities but color properties would be preferable.

I'm trying to figure out what kind I should be looking at and I have little experience with them. As you can imagine, I have a limited budget for them as well. I can mount them on my electrics on stage so distance isn't too significant a factor but I want to make the best and most economical choice.

I have a Congo Jr. lighting board so it appears that it can easily handle the addition of moving heads but I may be wrong. Any advice in the matter would be greatly appreciated. I'm hoping to acquire two of them and am looking at spending $2K or less on the purchase or rental of them.

Thanks so much!

------------------------------

Victoria Kesling Councill
    2015 Chapter Director - VA EdTA/ Virginia Thespians
    Theatre Director- Fine & Performing Arts Department NKHS
    Artistic Director - NKHS Trojan Theatre
    Artistic Director - Kent England Exchange Production
    Virginia Commonwealth University BFA Theatre Education, BFA Art Education '08
    "Love the art in yourself and not yourself in the art." - Konstantin Stanislavski

• 2.  RE: Moving Heads for Follow Spots

Posted 03-02-2015 05:58

Hello,

The $2000 you mentioned for rental  should be more than enough, however, using moving heads for follow spots is problematic in that they may not be able to move as you need them to.