Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  TV/Movie scripts??

Posted 08-18-2017 09:35

Hi All,

I'm looking to integrate multiple types of scripts into my Drama 2 class.  I want to study and rehearse using TV and movie scripts - NOT PERFORM THEM PUBLICLY.  Does this fall within the acceptable use copyright laws?  NO PUBLIC PERFORMANCES!!  Thanks for your insights!

Mike

Mike Hancey
    Theatre Program Director
    Musical Theatre, Drama & Theatre Guild
    Theater Manager
    Laramie High School
    Past-President WYACDA

• 2.  RE: TV/Movie scripts??

Posted 08-21-2017 09:30
    You might be able to find some online for purchase. They are not expensive.

------------------------------
    Stephen Ingle
    Drama Teacher
    Jefferson High School
    Jefferson, GA

• 3.  RE: TV/Movie scripts??

Posted 08-21-2017 22:47
    I am by no means a copyright expert, but I've been reading "for your consideration" screenplays for several years now. Film producers make them available online in the months leading up to the Oscars for the convenience of Oscar voters. Some screenplays are clearly labelled that they are free to download. For example, The Weinstein Company has screenplays for Lion, The Founder, and a couple of other films on their website right now with links to pdf downloads. The producers of Loving offer the screenplay for download on the movie's official website. It should be easy enough to contact the producers to secure permission to read the screenplays in class. Or, if you are in a school that provides devices for students, they can access the screenplays individually.

Again, I'm no lawyer, but if the owner of the material puts it online in a downloadable format and provides a clearly labelled link to the file, I'd bet you'd have an argument that it falls under fair use.

- Bob

---------------------------------
    Bob Ramseur

Newnan GA
    ---------------------------------

• 4.  RE: TV/Movie scripts??

Posted 08-22-2017 12:57