Open Forum

View Only

Musician pay

• 1.  Musician pay

Posted 12-04-2017 17:03
    Hello.  I am in a full-blown dispute with one of my musicians from my just completed musical production.  My fault lies in my failure to obtain an upfront quote.  He was asked to play by our regular accompanist.  We had a vague conversation in which I asked him his rate and he said he could work out some hourly figure.   He was at 5 rehearsals and 3 performances.   I am new at this school and was launched into producing the show quickly.   When I got his bill I was in shock.  He charged for study and preparation hours, outside rehearsal time, in rehearsal time and performance.  He charged $25 an hour. (That is, by the way, more than the union rate in this metro.)  His final bill was about 1/4 of my total budget and twice what the music director was getting paid.  I counter offered about half what he requested thinking I was being generous and he is now calling me unprofessional in bold letters and saying he is taking his case to my principal.   I know I blew it when I didn't get a solid quote up front.  However, we never had a contract and the understanding is it would be a fair rate.  We have a 300 seat theatre and charge $4 and $7 a ticket.   Am I being delusional?   The amount I put in to pay him pretty much wiped out the remainder of my budget.  Advice?

------------------------------
    Gloria Goodwin
    Kansas MO

• 2.  RE: Musician pay

Posted 12-05-2017 07:58
    Of course you should have had a contract upfront. We all know that but sometimes things happen  . . . 

I have never paid a musician for study and preparation time or outside rehearsal. They are paid by the event. If I cannot get them to agree to a flat rate between $200 and $400 I will pay them a fee per event: $35 - $50 per in-house rehearsal and performance.