Open Forum

View Only

R and H

• 1.  R and H

Posted 09-15-2016 08:47

I have been having a little trouble working the Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization on some rights related issues. They so far have not been especially customer-friendly. This is my first time working with them since the ownership change. I am wondering if I am an outlier of if some other high school directors have experienced this.

------------------------------
    Mark A. Zimmerman,

Theatre Director
    Akron School for the Arts
    Firestone High School
    333 Rampart Avenue,
    Akron, Ohio 44313

Troupe 5570

• 2.  RE: R and H

Posted 09-15-2016 10:03

I'm sorry to hear that. I'm working with them now for our spring show, and so far have not had any issues or hiccups. Are you communicating by email or talking to a rep on the phone?

Rich Luedeke
    Blackhawk Christian Theatre
    Fort Wayne, IN

• 3.  RE: R and H

Posted 09-16-2016 08:23

As stated before, sorry to hear about the trouble. We worked with R&H a few years ago and I remember them being stricter with their rights than other publishers. I think it's just that they have more protocol to follow and that's why sometimes it can be unpleasant to work with them sometimes. So I don't think you're alone and good luck!

Sara Danke
    Wisconsin Rapids WI

• 4.  RE: R and H

Posted 09-16-2016 11:39

I had a very similar experience working with them last year; so you're not alone! They are just not very friendly and really dont go out of there way to help you.  I had one experience where I was trying to be exceptionally nice and the gentleman on the other end sounded almost annoyed that I was trying to be friendly.  Hang in there!

Claire LaNicca
    Theatre Director
    Cincinnati OH

• 5.  RE: R and H

Posted 09-17-2016 08:56