Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Breaking the Stigma

Posted 09-27-2021 12:12
    As I'm sure many of you have or are currently dealing with, I am facing a problem with student participation especially in the male department.  Our school has a negative stigma on "theatre kids," and it is really putting a damper on our numbers.  We used to have athletes to audition, and now if you are an athlete you can't audition for a show because it's not the "popular" thing to do.  I had my students fill out a quick survey and 98% of them said that being in a play or musical isn't the cool thing to do.  I would love to get feedback from my fellow educators.  How do I go about fixing this?

------------------------------
    Erica Davidson
    Theatre Teacher
    University School of Jackson

• 2.  RE: Breaking the Stigma

Posted 09-28-2021 09:43
         I have been fighting for a solution for over 35 years and really don't have a clear one to offer. I have a membership of over 100 students, but only ten of them are male. I tried the, "Where do you think the Leonardo DeCaprio's or Tom Hiddleston's of the world came from? They were involved in high school theatre." I would love to think that would have worked, but they just aren't interested. Theatre attracts a "type" and I was one of them....looking for a way to fit in, needing attention, but not wanting to go about it in a bad way because I was a preacher's kid, etc. I long to do West Side Story, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, let alone Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, but it's never been possible because of the lack of males in the department. You can say all you want about "gender-blindness" but most musicals are out of range for the female voice to pull off most male musical songs, and society is still not accepting of the switch, especially in the South, where I teach. One coach at a previous school had a speech to his football players, after learning one of his players had dropped out of the season to be on stag