Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  ITF Newbie

Posted 06-21-2018 11:14
    Although I have been participating in state conference for many years, this is my first year going to Nebraska. I have 7 students with me, 3 are doing IEs and 3 are doing college auditions. We are sharing a bus with another school (Thanks DSA!). However I have found much of the process quite confusing. I'm also quite intimidated. 

2 questions for my more experienced colleagues: 

1) What are the big things you would suggest I tell my students to help them be prepared for this experience? Something they should bring or make sure they get to? Or just in general?

2) What would you tell me that I can't find on the website? Looking for the voice of experience. How do I keep my sanity, what sorts of things should I do while I'm there? Anything?

Help us be prepared. There's no rehearsal for this.

------------------------------
    Scott Hasbrouck
    George Washington HS
    Denver, CO

• 2.  RE: ITF Newbie

Posted 06-21-2018 12:48
    Hey Scott,

Having been to over 10+ ITF, being a student, college rep and workshop presenter, even getting a chance to go once will be an amazing experience for the students as well as yourself. 

1) What are the big things you would suggest I tell my students to help them be prepared for this experience? Something they should bring or make sure they get to? Or just in general?

Have fun, meet new people (especially the ITO) and take as many different types of workshops they would usually not have the opportunity at your state festival or try something new. If they're wanting to see different shows being performed, go to the ones they may have never seen or even a show they may have performed. It's always great getting to expand their horizon or get a different perspective. 

If you haven't already gone to https://www.schooltheatre.org/itf2018/logistics/atfestival this is a great place to look for what to bring.