Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Sketch Up versus VectorWorks

Posted 10-17-2017 13:39
    I am new to teaching a Technical Theatre class this year and would like to have students measure the stage, draft a model on the computer and then create a mini-model of our stage.  We would then further this assignment by creating a ground plan for a set design of a play scene.  

My question is which is better for this assignment-- Sketch Up or Vectorworks?  I know some of my students have experience with Sketch Up at the middle school and it is also free.  

Thoughts from the hive?

Julie Estrada, MEd.
    Theatre Director
    Windsor High School Theatre
    1100 West Main Street
    Windsor, CO 80550

• 2.  RE: Sketch Up versus VectorWorks

Posted 10-17-2017 14:36
    I  like Vectorworks since it is an industry standard. SketchUp is nice but it can get a bit "wonky" sometimes. Both are free for students and teachers.
    Either one you use, here are some good YouTube video tutorial:

Sean O'Skea
    YouTube remove preview
    Sean O'Skea
    View this on YouTube >

sean oskea, sketchup

------------------------------
    John Perry
    Drama Instructor
    Atherton High School
    Louisville KY

• 3.  RE: Sketch Up versus VectorWorks

Posted 10-17-2017 14:40
    Someone else can probably answer this better than I can as I've never used SketchUp in the classroom. However, we've used Vectorworks for the past five years. My two reasons for sticking with Vectorworks are:

1. It's also free! Your school can get a donated lab license and/or your students can download free individual copies of Vectorworks on their computers at home. (Your students will need to provide evidence of their student status, such as a letter from the school [on official letterhead] or a scan of their student ID card.)