Open Forum

View Only

It's gonna be a looooooong year. Please help.

• 1.  It's gonna be a looooooong year. Please help.

Posted 08-29-2015 16:28

Hello Everyone,

I am a brand new Theatre teacher.  I have to teach Pre-K - 8th grade.  I have absolutely NO Classroom Management Skills and it is beginning to show.  This last week was my first ever and the kids have kicked my you-know-what into submission.  I already lost my power.  I tried hand gestures to silence them as well as a bell.  My voice is not big and booming and I have to either teach the lower school students in their tiny classroom and the upper school kids in the cafetorium which makes their 20 voices (at a time) sound like 40 to my one.  I burst in to tears in FRONT OF a 6th grade class when two kids sassed me and I could not get them to stay focused and silenced.  

I received a $100 gift card to Amazon from the Parent Teacher Assoc. during Orientation week (all the new teachers did) and I am wondering what best to spend it on book wise.  Do you have a favorite Classroom management book (I was told about 1-2-3 Magic for Teachers today) that you swear by?  Also, I would like to begin my first ever drama bookshelf in my office and do not even have one acting book or play yet....please help me stretch this $100 and by best material to grow my little collection.  I appreciate all of your feedback so very much.

Thank you

------------------------------
    Jennifer Riker

• 2.  RE: It's gonna be a looooooong year. Please help.

Posted 08-29-2015 17:32
    Hi Jennifer,

Here are a few posts that might help:

Great Book: Fred Jones Tools for Teaching. 

Rosalind Flynn
    Head of the M.A. in Theatre Education
    The Catholic University of America
    Silver Spring MD

• 3.  RE: It's gonna be a looooooong year. Please help.

Posted 08-30-2015 08:40

Teach Like a Champion 2.0 (Doug Lemov) has great strategies in it: Teach Like a Champion 2.0: 62 Techniques that Put Students on the Path to College