Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Are there any new theatre texts out there?

Posted 05-15-2016 09:02

HI!  I have been using the same theatre textbook for almost 8 years and I am really curious if there is anything new that's been written that people know of.  

I use Glencoe Exploring Theatre for my Theatre 1 class.  Its a survey class for students getting their fine arts credit.  It is a great book but its getting a bit dated.  

I obviously, as most of us do, have many other resources for teaching theatre, but I do like having a text especially for a large class of students that are mostly not interested in performing.  

I also use Basic Drama Projects occasionally for my upper level classes. 

I've probably tried almost everything that you can buy out there, but I thought I would at least ask.  

Additionally I would like to find a new speech textbook because I teach that too. (Glencoe Speech is what I'm using)

------------------------------
    Hannah Barnes
    Morgantown WV

• 2.  RE: Are there any new theatre texts out there?

Posted 05-16-2016 09:25

Have you seen the "Introduction to Theatre Arts" series by Suzi Zimmerman? I purchased the teacher edition, but am considering buying a full set of updated workbooks (Introduction to Theatre Arts 2) for my classes next year. I'm in the same boat as you - I have half sets of Drama Projects and Glencoe Exploring Theatre. I prefer Drama Projects and will also be buying the rest of the set as well for my more advanced classes. 

That being said, I don't want to recommend "Intro to Theatre Arts" having not used the full student workbook with a class. Can anyone else put in a review for this series? 

Valerie Boehm

• 3.  RE: Are there any new theatre texts out there?

Posted 05-16-2016 09:40