Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Shakespearean Play Selection

Posted 07-10-2017 15:59
    My students are really excited to try performing a Shakespearean play this year.  It is my first time directing Shakespeare and I am SUPER intimidated by it.  I am also torn on which show to choose.  I have narrowed it down to three: MidsummerTwelfth Night, and The Tempest.  I feel like Midsummer is the safest choice--the kids are the most familiar with it and the audiences would be likely be more familiar with it than the other two.  Twelfth Night seems really suited to some of the actors that I will have in the class that will be performing the show.  And, I'm just gaga over The Tempest--it is one of my favorite Shakespearean plays and I think the kids would do well with it.  Any suggestions from some of your experiences with directing Shakespeare that might help me make my decision?

Thanks so much!

------------------------------
    Sarah Gerling
    Theatre Teacher and Director
    Columbia MO

• 2.  RE: Shakespearean Play Selection

Posted 07-10-2017 17:50
    Oh, yeah.  Yes.  Go for it.

I would recommend both The Tempest and Midsummer as a first go.  

My biggest piece of advice is to wrestle with the script yourself for several reads and when you feel comfortable doing so, take a pencil to it-- taking the opportunity to shape the script for your production. 

One of the other things I really like about producing Shakespeare is that the works lend themselves to interpretation-- settings in different time periods, gender bending casting (Prospera instead of Prospero for example).

I hope you have a lot of fun with the work.

Michael Johnson
    Trinity NC

• 3.  RE: Shakespearean Play Selection

Posted 07-11-2017 07:54
    I have loved the Shakespeare that we have done. Just a word on editing. Several summers ago I worked with the American Shakespeare Center in Virginia. The best piece of advice I received was to "dissect" rather than "amputate".