Open Forum

View Only

Looking for simple, scaled-down Musical for small high school

• 1.  Looking for simple, scaled-down Musical for small high school

Posted 10-11-2016 14:34
    Hi everyone,

I'm in my second year at a small private high school (130 students) where I've been rebuilding the theatre program. Last year, we produced Fools to great success with a simple set and lighting. This year, I'm producing 12 Angry Jurors in the fall and am looking for an accessible, easy-to-produce musical for the Spring. I don't think we're ready for much elaborate choreography or large choral numbers, so I'm looking for a show that still feels big but doesn't require large resources or technical means to pull off. We'll also be relying on recorded tracks or simple accompaniment for the music. I'm looking very seriously at Working (2012), Godspell (perhaps Jr. version) or The Spitfire Grill. Any insight into those shows or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks! 

David Sturdevant
    Middleburg, VA

• 2.  RE: Looking for simple, scaled-down Musical for small high school

Posted 10-12-2016 08:13

Pumpboys and Dinettes is a great small cast musical that takes place in a diner and a gas station. Really fun music.  My kids loved doing this show!

------------------------------
    Terry McGonigle
    Director of Theatre
    Alma AR

• 3.  RE: Looking for simple, scaled-down Musical for small high school

Posted 10-12-2016 10:17