Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Shakespeare question

Posted 01-13-2020 09:38
    Our troupe has about $250 for next year. So a royalty free play is needed. I have some students interested in doing Shakespeare. I have done a traditional Midsummer's Night before with a line modification for a blind student. This time I think I'd like to try 3 acts of different plays. I think I'd get a better turn out if it was a range rather than one play. Our community might be like - "Ugh, Shakespeare? Why?". 

I can get traditional costumes (borrowed free) and was thinking just a key set piece (like the balcony, a throne, a bower) for each act. So, tell me if I am short sighted or what I'm missing. Should I consider a spin like Leo/Claire's R&J as one act or different time? 

Has any one done this? What 3 would flow for you? Cuts? Whole acts?

A wrench - I typically have all girls. They are good. Are there better acts for this than others? I am no expert on Shakespeare so am looking for advice.

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Kati Heintzman
    Thespian Advisor
    Middletown City Schools
    Middletown OH

• 2.  RE: Shakespeare question

Posted 01-13-2020 10:19
    If you're looking for a royalty free option (and don't really want to do Shakespeare or a different piece that is public domain) you could have your students write the piece. 

If you want to do Shakespeare (and I think the idea of doing different acts from different plays is an interesting one) I'd just make sure that the pieces you choose are complementary without being too repetitive. Have you considered how you will organize the different pieces and how you will market the idea to your audience? Maybe you could choose one act from a script they read in the English classes. That would allow you to get buy-in from the English department and possibly help support your production by having the teachers offering extra credit for coming to the show.