Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Help!! Holiday Play ASAP

Posted 11-05-2015 09:58

I have read nearly 40 plays/musicals and can't find a holiday show that isn't cheesy for high school. We have roughly 5 weeks to pull it together. I have a cast so far and a set (same interior set as my fall show) and no actual show picked.  My interior set has double doors for a front door and an arch on the left side of the room. 

We had 9 kids audition, 3 okay males 4 minor character males, 9 females all strong. Initially I wanted a christmas carol but after auditions I don't have the makes to pull it off.  : ( 

Any show suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

------------------------------
    Denique Morris
    Teacher
    Cerritos CA

• 2.  RE: Help!! Holiday Play ASAP

Posted 11-06-2015 07:18

Hi there,

I'm a drama teacher based in London. 'Alice in Winterwonderland' and 'The Turn of the Screw' (both from www.treepress.org) are both popular festive shows in the UK. They both have flexible casts and have been written with the school stage in mind. Links below. Hope this is useful and you find what you are looking for! 

Good luck! 

Adrienne 

https://www.treepress.org/scripts/the-turn-of-the-screw

https://www.treepress.org/scripts/alice-in-winter-wonderland

Adrienne Ferguson
    Creative Director
    TreePress
    London. United Kingdom
    adrienne@treepress.org

www.treepress.org
    Making theatre easily accessible for everyone, everywhere.

• 3.  RE: Help!! Holiday Play ASAP

Posted 11-06-2015 09:59

With the time frame you're looking at, I would suggest "It's a Wonderful Life, a live radio play" by Joe Landry. Publisher: Playscripts.  You can add holiday music, and there are some included ideas for radio "jingles".

Link: https://www.playscripts.com/play/1064