Open Forum

View Only

Carousel? Anybody?

• 1.  Carousel? Anybody?

Posted 10-14-2019 19:22
    Hi all,

I'm looking for some insight from anyone who might have done Carousel with high school students. If you have put up Carousel can you let me know what you loved? What you wish you could have a second shot at?

We generated lots of interest with Newsies last year, so I have plenty of interest, experienced dancers, and vocalists. I want to find something that will let me feature multiple young men and ladies, but also keep the ensemble interested. I'm not sure if I have found that in Carousel or not.

Harvey

------------------------------
    J. Harvey Stone
    Teacher/Director
    Williamsburg VA

• 2.  RE: Carousel? Anybody?

Posted 10-15-2019 03:38
    Have you read the script?!? It basically is about a bad man who beats his wife. Dies in a robbery. Comes back meets his teenage daughter and hits her. Then has both the mother and daughter say the hits felt like a kiss. Dont do it!

Joseph Gels
    Theatre Teacher
    Boston Latin School
    Boston MA

• 3.  RE: Carousel? Anybody?

Posted 10-15-2019 07:48
    Hi James,

I have a unique perspective on Carousel having played Billy Bigelow in an equity production and directing it years later in regional theatre. Directing it especially, I came to realize the show's serious flaws. I was especially disturbed by the casual treatment of domestic abuse, particularly when Billy returns from the afterlife to "help" his daughter and winds up slapping her across the face in frustration, She asks her mother about how someone hitting you so hard could feel like a kiss. Her mother, remembering her own abuse at Billy's hands tells her daughter that yes, it's possible. WHAT???