Open Forum

View Only

Who directs your musical?

• 1.  Who directs your musical?

Posted 05-10-2014 13:11
    I have been teaching in a school theatre program for seven years and involved with theatre at the community, collegiate, and professional level for years prior to teaching. In my experience, it has been that the musical fell under a theatre department to choose, cast, run, etc. - which is how we have been operating the musical at our school since prior to my time here.

Within the past seven years, our music department has been growing independently from a small choral program into three distinct choral, band, and strings ensembles. Over the course of the past year, I have been feeling pressure from our choral director that rather than participate as simply the musical director, a desire to be the sole decision maker for the musical - selection, casting, rehearsal planning, etc. - "with assistance from theatre for costumes, set, and blocking".

This concept is not something that I have any experience with, that I have seen at any other HS program, and that I feel would be a huge setback to what I am trying to build with our theatre program and theatrical education. As it is, the music director (our choral director), the choreographer, and I all sit down to cast together and our band director plans and conducts the orchestra. All of which seems to provide a balanced collaboration of involvement within our department in making decisions for the show.

At various conferences over the past year, I have asked fellow HS theatre teachers at how their programs have been established and each one has told me they are the sole director of the musical and that the music department assists with the vocal and orchestral needs.

Any feedback on how your programs are run/staffed and who is "in charge" of your musical would be greatly appreciated.

-------------------------------------------
    Teresa McGrath
    Greenville SC

• 2.  RE:Who directs your musical?