Open Forum

View Only

Homeschool involvement?

• 1.  Homeschool involvement?

Posted 02-03-2020 14:21
    Hi, all,

Mostly for Alabama teachers, since states tend to mind their own sets of rules, though open to all.

Do you allow homeschooled students to participate in your extracurricular shows? The state's athletics governance allows homeschoolers to play sports as long as they take one elective class at the school, but there are no existing guidelines (that I know of) for arts extracurriculars. My first ask brought up questions of liability and whether the student lived within district limits (he does), but I have not gotten a final answer yet.

Thoughts?

------------------------------
    Josh Kauffman
    Teacher, Thespian Society/Drama Club sponsor
    Winfield City Schools
    Winfield, AL

• 2.  RE: Homeschool involvement?

Posted 02-04-2020 07:17
    I'm in Arkansas, but I have had lots of experience with this, so replying in case it helps. 1) AAA governs most (maybe all) competition in our schools: sports, cheer, quiz bowl, drama, etc. Ask your admin about these. 2) There are "Tim Tebow" laws that basically say homeschoolers in your district can NOT be prevented from participating in extracurricular activities (but again - check/call AAA or whatever you have that governs competition if that is involved). 3) We have always welcomed homeschoolers to be in our productions, but we recently chartered our Thespian troupe, so it did present another challenge.  A homeschooler can join, but competition and travel is another issue. My district required her to enroll and take a class in order to travel with us and be covered by the school's insurance. This was really not a big deal. She joined my theater I class. 4) Students outside of the district can be released from their district too. My student was because her district did not have an active drama department or Thespian troupe. Hope this helps some!

Tracye Couture
    South Arkansas