Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Programs

Posted 03-26-2015 18:00

How or where do you create your programs?  Right now, I am using Adobe InDesign to create the program, but I'm not good with creating the name so it blend into the background rather than using a picture that has a white background and doesn't look appealing.

Just thought I'd get some suggestions on what you use to create you programs and what you do to make them the best they can be.  Thanks!

------------------------------
    Trevor Yarbrough
    Teacher
    Dyer County High School
    Newbern TN

• 2.  RE: Programs

Posted 03-26-2015 20:00
    InDesign is the best layout software out there and is what we use, but you can do equally as well with Microsoft's Publisher.  There is a good online video class at Lynda.com to learn InDesign as it does have a high learning curve. Subscribe for just 1 month for $25 - or you might get hooked on it.  We put a lot into our programs to make them look nice with a color cover, full bios and professional headshots so kids can use them in portfolios for college or scholarships. I usually have a kid whose parent(s) are "professional" photographer who does the pics gratis (it seems like everyone is a "professional" photographer these days - and some are more professional than others.)

James Mead
    Director of Drama
    Palmer AK

• 3.  RE: Programs

Posted 03-27-2015 08:05

For the last two years, we've used the online software from Playbill. Go to playbillder.com to check it out.

I will say, there are some glitchy things about the software, but once you figure out how to navigate around these, you can end up with a pretty good looking program.  

Ryan Moore
    Theatre Teacher and Forensics Coach
    Ferndale MI

• 4.  RE: Programs

Posted 03-27-2015 08:30