Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  One Act Suggestions for Competition and for Middle School

Posted 12-04-2017 09:34
    Hello everyone, 

I have spent quite a bit of time reading past forums/message threads here with wonderful ideas for One Acts.  As I haven't done many One Acts over the sixteen years of directing at my high school, I'm a bit new at what is quality and what is either over done or ends up being cheesy.  I'm looking at needing two One Acts for two different purposes.

1) I need a One Act for my first attempt at building a middle school "feeder" program into the high school program I've been directing. Step one is a simple 30-45 minute One Act presented this upcoming March.  I want no to minimal set and costumes. I'd like something funny with a message for the middle school audience that will be involved but also attending.  So I was circling AFTER MATH by Dorf (After Math by Jonathan Dorf | Playscripts Inc.). Any other fresh suggestions that meet this criteria?

2) We were just invited to attend a state One Act festival for our high school troupe.  It has been almost a decade since I've done MIFA or any other form of One Act exhibition/competition.  I had previously directed SELFIE by Bradley Hayward and was considering I DON'T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT.   I'm back and forth on doing a traditional "story" (Insanity of Mary Girard or NEVERMORE or Jeckyll and Hyde) versus more of a "message/monologue" for competition.  Not sure what works best, especially for returning back to high school one act exhibition.

Any suggestions for this?

Again, I know many wonderful thread have been written, but I was looking for any current/newer ideas or thoughts. Thank you in advance. I love this community.

------------------------------
    James McCulloch
    Drama Director of Mariner Drama
    Marine City, Michigan
    jmcculloch@ecsd.us

• 2.  RE: One Act Suggestions for Competition and for Middle School

Posted 12-04-2017 13:30