Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Thespian participation rules

Posted 11-19-2020 08:40
    Howdy,

I am relatively new to the Thespian world and I have a question for those of you who have been around the block.  Do you require all of your Thespian Students to audition for every show in your season?  If not audition, is their a requirement that they be involved with every production on some level?  I am asking because at my school we divide up our season among a few directors.  I direct all of the US plays, the Choir Director directs the Musical and the MS Theatre Teacher directs the MS play/musical.  I am the Troupe Director for our Thespian Troupe.  Some of our Thespians have let it be known that they will not be auditioning for the upcoming musical.  The Choir Director thought it was a rule that all Thespians have to audition.  Our constitution is not precise about that requirement, so I'm wondering what some of you do in your own troupes.  Thank you for any advice/insight you can provide!

------------------------------
    Jim Butz
    Drama Teacher
    Town and Country MO

• 2.  RE: Thespian participation rules

Posted 11-20-2020 08:15
    As the troupe director, you have pretty broad discretion about how your troupe operates and what requirements you establish.  Once a student is inducted, they are a member of ITS for life, however, you can create any criteria you think appropriate to remain a "member in good standing" (so to speak) of your troupe. You could make it a requirement to audition if you want to, but I do not.  Speaking only for myself, I don't want to force students to audition, especially if they know they will not have the time to commit to a role etc.  It also seems a bit arbitrary - are mainly "techie" troupe members required to audition as well? or only the students your MD wants to audition?