Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Thespian Points

Posted 10-10-2018 15:04
    Hey! It's my first year as a troupe director and I'm still figuring out how Thespian points work. One of my students was in a production not affiliated with my high school's theatre program over the summer. Can she earn thespian points for having a role in that production? If so, how does that work exactly?
    Thank you in advance for your help!

------------------------------
    Erin Graffis
    Theatre Teacher
    Columbus OH

• 2.  RE: Thespian Points

Posted 10-10-2018 16:02
    The recommendation is to award points at half the rate you would for school shows.  So if your student played a lead in a community show, they would earn 4 points instead of 8.

Elana Kepner
    Theatre Instructor
    The Oakwood School
    Greenville NC

• 3.  RE: Thespian Points

Posted 10-10-2018 17:29
    It's really up to each individual Troupe to decide.  I award matching points up to but not exceeding the work the student has done in school.  I also require a signature from the Director of the outside show on the program with the students name in it.

Amy Learn
    Ballwin MO

• 4.  RE: Thespian Points

Posted 10-11-2018 07:44
    In my troupe, the answer is no. Our students ear Thespian points on our shows and activities only.

The good news is that you can do it any way you want!

--
    Mark A. Zimmerman
    Theatre Director,

Akron School for the Arts
    Firestone High School
    470 Castle Blvd
    Akron, Ohio 44313

330-761-3275

FirestoneTheatre.com

• 5.  RE: Thespian Points

Posted 10-11-2018 11:28