Open Forum

View Only

Handling money

• 1.  Handling money

Posted 02-24-2016 12:56

I find that, as a theatre teacher, I'm forever collecting money from kids for various items...field trips (including our biennial New York City trip, in which case I'm collecting a LOT of money), school production souvenirs (sweatshirts, posters, etc.), cast dinner money, playbill ad sales, fundraising receipts and on and on.  (For tickets our big school musical we use showtix4u.com plus I generally have some parent support, so I I am blessesd to be out of that particular transaction.)  Depending on how events align in a particular part of the year, I may be collecting for a variety of things at once, which can mean 50 kids in a day handing me little envelopes of checks or cash (which, invariably, they want to throw at me during the four minute passing time in the hallway and which sometimes includes their name). 

In short, little envelopes (and worse yet, wadded up bills) are making me crazy.  I'm very disciplined about how I handle money coming in and always have dedicated receptacles for whatever items I'm collecting at that moment, and I'm very good about putting it immediately in the proper bin until such time that it can be properly processed.  Still, I wonder, are there those of you out there more clever than I (and perhaps more technologically savvy) who have devised systems for kids and families to pay for things electronically so that I'm not up to my ears in envelopes?

I know how innovative members of this community are, and I thought I'd throw it out there.  There must be a better way.  

------------------------------
    Ryan Moore
    Theatre Teacher and Forensics Coach
    Royal Oak MI

• 2.  RE: Handling money

Posted 02-24-2016 13:07

Right with you, Ryan. Sometimes I wonder if I look like I'm in a certain other profession, with the huge stacks of dollar bills I carry around in my pocket.