Open Forum

View Only

Request from Flooded School - Total Loss

• 1.  Request from Flooded School - Total Loss

Posted 08-20-2016 00:03

Good evening my fellow educators,

I'm writing you tonight with a heavy heart. I teach Theatre (three levels), along with my partner teacher, at St. Amant High in Ascension parish, Louisiana. My school is one of the schools that was affected tremendously by the floods which began on August 13, 2016. I have been teaching for 15 years and I just so happen to teach at my alma mater. Life is full circle, isn't it? I can't begin to tell you how much I LOVE my job and my school...but I'm sure most of you feel the same way. My principal sent an email to us today to consider everything in the school as a total loss. I haven't been in my classroom or on the stage since the flooding, but I'm not sure if I'm ready to face the loss of 15 years worth of work, memories, and resources. I'm asking for your prayers and thoughts for myself, my partner teacher, my school, my community, and my students in the weeks to come.

I also would like to make a request. If you have any materials you are not using anymore, older editions of textbooks, monologue/scene books, scripts, anything useful to begin to replenish our theatre library, I would be grateful for the donation. I'm not used to asking for help, but this is for my students, and I'd do anything for them. Please don't feel like you have to buy new items! Gently loved books are wonderful. Any thing else you might feel we could use would be appreciated as well.