Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  New Junior Troupe Advice?

Posted 10-23-2020 09:34
    Hi!
    I just chartered our my first troupe last year, and I've never had the opportunity to actually be in a troupe myself when I was in school.  I've been directing my middle school's theatre program for about 8 years now, and we have a really strong number of students who participate in our productions.  I'm mostly wondering how Troupe directors keep the troupe business/meetings from feeling exclusive in a way that makes other students who participate regularly in productions from feeling left out?

Our school has used Schoology for years, and I have a large group in our schoology community that is in our Club page that I post all our updates and communications to. I am inducting our first 48 students into our new Troupe, which is a small number compared to the 150 students who are on our club page (some are former members who want to stay in touch.) I'm feeling worried about creating a new troupe page so I can communicate more clearly with those students about our induction ceremony, officer elections, and other troupe business, because I don't want the other students to feel... "other." 

Any advice or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated!

------------------------------
    Lauren van Thiel
    Nazareth Area Middle School Theatre Teacher/Director
    Nazareth, PA

• 2.  RE: New Junior Troupe Advice?

Posted 10-26-2020 21:26

Lauren,