Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Scenes for High School Students That Are Relevant

Posted 12-04-2018 08:47

Hi All, 
    I have been teaching acting for 11 years and have always struggled with finding scene study material particularly drama that is relevant, engaging and appropriate for high school students specically from published plays (not ones that are from collections for young actors.)  I recently transfered from an urban environment to a suburban one and the scenes I was teaching really don´t translate well here.I like my students to be able to research the plays and playwrights from which they acting. Anyone have a database or scenes they have collected over the years that might help? Thanks so much!

--
    Krista Reagan
    Performing Arts Teacher and Director of Theatre
    Advisor of The Woodington Players
    Westwood Regional Jr./Sr. High School
    701 Ridgewood Road
    Township of Washington, NJ 07676

• 2.  RE: Scenes for High School Students That Are Relevant

Posted 12-04-2018 10:21
    I've gotten tremendous results doing scenes from Circle Mirror Transformation, the Christians, and Bellwether (by Steve Yockey). I've done these with my Advanced Drama classes and most students enjoy and even love the plays.  There's a lot to dig into in each play, especially characterization.  The scenes from Bellwether in particular were some of the strongest I've ever seen from students - there's a lot of raw emotion in the play. CMT and Bellwether have the occasional swear word, but nothing that reasonably mature students can't handle seeing.