Open Forum

View Only

HELP!!

• 1.  HELP!!

Posted 07-29-2016 12:16
    At the end of the past school year I posted about "newbie help".  I recieved MANY helpful responses and was able to get a stack of books to read and educate myself on.  Now as the new school year is about to start gearing up I am finding myself overwhelmed.  I have still to be able to envision what a theatre class should look like!  
    WOULD ANYONE OUT THERE be willing to share a pacing calendar and/or a daily glimpse into their classroom.  I am an English teacher, trying to become a Theatre teacher.  I don't think my class is supposed to have the same structure as my English classes but I don't know what that is supposed to look like.  What should I be trying to get done in a school year?  
    Thanks again!  I read through the posts every day and either find a tool for my tool box or get completely overwhelmed!
    --
    Best Regards,
    Charlotte Kauffman
    English and Theatre Teacher

• 2.  RE: HELP!!

Posted 07-29-2016 15:21

My pace changes due to the needs of the class and whether they're mastering things or need more time. But in general, this is the typical structure and pacing of my Drama 1/2 classes. Keep in mind that my Thespian club puts on our plays and musical, so auditions are open to all students, not just drama class members. As a result, there is no embedded rehearsal time in the curriculum. In the past when I've had only one class (no club) and that class was expected to put on a show, I've cut out certain units and shuffled things around.

If you're interested in learning more about any of my units or projects, let me know and I can send you some resources.

SEMESTER ONE

- Ice breakers and team building activities [1 Week]

- Basic theater safety, types of stages/theaters, parts of a theater [3 days]

- Pantomime, body language, facial expression (2-3 weeks)

* Mask work

* Facial work

* Silent movie project (putting bodies to use)

- Voice and breath [1-2 weeks]