Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Recommendations for a budget mixing console

Posted 08-24-2020 18:27
    Our 6th - 8th grade middle school is looking to purchase a budget sound system. We'd start with 8 wireless lapel + headset mics, 8-10 channel mixer and speakers. I am new to this, so I won't take offense at (and would appreciate) being corrected where my ignorance is in the way. Based on research so far, the clear winner for mics is the GTD Audio 4x800. We can get 2 of these for under $600. This appears to give 8 simultaneous live mics with the possibility of having 8 lapel and 8 headset mics wired to 16 children and swapping battery packs / transmitters as needed so 8 can be live at once.

I am thoroughly confused as to which mixer is best for drama use. I have looked at the Soundcraft Signature 10 for $299, the Soundcraft EPM8 for $279, the Yamaha MG10XU for $209, the Alto Professional Live 802 for $229, the Mackie PROFX10V3 for $200, and the Behringer Xenyx X1222USB for $239. We do 4 drama productions max per year and one may or may not be a musical. Most reviews are from bands using them with effects and more. I'd appreciate advice with drama in mind for a reliable and capable mixer with decent quality (i.e. lack of background noise). The ability to record is important - so I believe all of these have an USB interface. With the current situation, we're looking at moving our events outdoors - although this would be temporary.

We haven't picked speakers yet, but if you have any advice for an approximately $300 pair of speakers, it would save a separate post....

Thanks for your help and input.

------------------------------
    Michael

• 2.  RE: Recommendations for a budget mixing console

Posted 08-25-2020 09:59