Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Magical Realism-Latino Titles

Posted 07-10-2018 13:11
    Hey Folks! 
    I am setting my season up and very much would like for our kids to produce a Latino Magical Realism title. It's been a while since I studied the genre, and I'd love  a list of titles to read through. 

The school where I teach theatre has a population of about 85% Latino students, many of whom speak English as their first language, so some spanish, but not all spanish language would be preferable.

Rebecca Fahning
    Desert Pines High School Theatre /Theatre Tech Teacher
    ITS Troupe 6125, Direector

------------------------------
    Rebecca Fahning
    Theatre Teacher
    Las Vegas NV

• 2.  RE: Magical Realism-Latino Titles

Posted 07-10-2018 15:37
    Cool question. I was never clear on the strict definition of magical realism, but as far as some Spanish-language or Latinx pieces go, I found My Mañana Comes was a rich source for two and three person scenes (4 M, workers in a restaurant). There was also a really good one act, which blurred the lines theatrically, about a young female swimmer who is swimming throughout the piece whilst her family are observing from a boat? Goodness, I wish I could remember the name of it! 

If you're going for a bigger stretch, a great Spanish-influenced piece would be Zorro the Musical; Set between pre-USA California and Spain, music by the Gipsy Kings, it would be perfect for your demographic. Also very exciting and potential for lots of cool sword fighting (we got our students certified through Society of American Fight Directors so that the fights looked more authentic and, more importantly in terms of administration buy-in, safe).

I think you could stretch to 'The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity,' but that is actually really tricky for casting if you're trying to be accurate. 

I know folks here have even better suggestions! Let 'em rip!

Phillip Goodchild
    Theatre Arts Instructor

Etobicoke ON