Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  One-acts

Posted 09-12-2019 05:15
    I'm new to teaching theatre.  How do you all find meaningful one-acts?  I'm looking for one for a competition.  I do not have a lot of boys and it cant be more than 35 minutes.  Everything I'm reading is frankly silly and not going to help us place well.  Thanks!

H. Ellsworth
    Social Studies teacher
    Class of 2020 cosponsor
    One-act competition coach

• 2.  RE: One-acts

Posted 09-12-2019 10:55
    I do a lot of pieces like this. Some of it is just going to be you reading pieces and deciding what you like. Playscripts is a great option for this since you can peruse the piece before buying it.

How many boys do you have? It will be a bit more difficult with the 35 minute time limit but, if you can give me a little more specificity, I can probably steer you to some. I've done Holocaust, military, date rape, school violence, bullying, self esteem issues and following society expectations without thought based pieces over the dozen years I've been at my current school.

------------------------------
    Shira Schwartz
    Chandler Unified School District
    Chandler AZ

• 3.  RE: One-acts

Posted 09-12-2019 12:44
    Heather,

If all the plays you are reading are silly, it's probably your source. Many publishing houses are geared toward G-Rated, middle school plays. Try Playscripts, Dramatic Publishing, or Dramatists Play Service. They have a few silly plays, but they have many, many high quality ones as well.

Michael Corliss
    Livonia MI

• 4.  RE: One-acts

Posted 09-13-2019 08:34
    I second the ones Michael mentioned.  I've just set my festival group homework of searching for possible plays - I like to pass off some of the reading work ;-)