Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Thespian Meetings

Posted 08-30-2018 11:05
    ​Hi everyone!!! 

I'm a fairly new theater teacher and need ideas on what to do during my thespian meetings. Last year was the first year I went to a competition. They year before I chartered the thespian troupe. I know that close to competition time I can use meetings as rehearsal time, but what about the other days? I would really love to do some kind of community service project related to theater so my middle schoolers can get hours,too. Any suggestions on thespian meeting ideas will be greatly appreciated!

------------------------------
    Jessica Fekete
    Upper Elementary & Middle School Teacher
    Sunrise FL

• 2.  RE: Thespian Meetings

Posted 08-30-2018 11:48

Hi Jessica!

Do you have any student leaders? This can be a really great opportunity for students to step up and work with one another to plan Thespian meetings. 

Regardless- an approach that my high school's troupe, the troupe I also advised for a couple years, took was to have themed meetings. These themes included: intro to improv, improv, costume & makeup design, character development, movement, etc. But it's also helpful to use holidays as themes! Every year, we did a Halloween meeting where we could teach FX makeup, play murder mystery games, and more. 

Since it's the beginning of the year, you can also start with an introductory meeting or two.: if you have a theater space, do a tour or a scavenger hunt; maybe pair up older students with younger students to welcome them into the group! 

I hope this all helps, or at the very least sparks some ideas for your Thespian troupe. Have fun! 

Katie Ferchen
    Cincinnati OH

• 3.  RE: Thespian Meetings

Posted 08-31-2018 12:18
    We have a meeting a month to handle any paperwork or housekeeping issues. The other meetings vary according to need and include:

- audition tips and techniques
    - tech training