Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Copyright law for song lyrics in an original one-act

Posted 01-06-2016 16:04

I'm a student for Mrs. Velazquez, and I had a question about copyright laws for a one-act I am writing. One of the important plot points involves two main characters singing popular songs against their will. If I were to only have the characters sing a refrain or another brief part from the song, would I still need to obtain permission from the rights holders? For reference, the show where this would be performed typically has free admission, and I was considering writing in dialogue that clarifies that neither the characters nor the writer own the rights to the song (this kind of joke would fit with the humor of the rest of the one-act).

Any and all assistance is appreciated!

------------------------------
    Theresa Velazquez
    St Charles MO

• 2.  RE: Copyright law for song lyrics in an original one-act

Posted 01-06-2016 17:42

There is a allowance called "Fair Use". Although in speaking once to a copyright attorney, it is more of a defense. He explained it this way. "Fair Use is what a defendant defends himself with once litigation has been initiated". He told me that there is no real cut and dry answer to this because Copyright law can be vague and dynamic. The court is what determines what infringement is. He also said that there are a few of things that can help keep you safe.  

• Keep it to 2% or less when using someones copyrighted work.
    • Do not put "used under fair use" it  is not effective, and can alert the owner of the song to look further into the possibility of infringement.
    • Obtain permission from the artist or owner (You would probably be surprised how willing and helpful they can be) in writing.