Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Improvisation Assessments

Posted 10-01-2017 15:26
    I am working on an improvisation unit and am in need of some formal assessments. Can anyone share their improvisation assessments?

Thanks,
    Cheri Addison
    Nation Ford High Schoo
    Fort Mill, SC

• 2.  RE: Improvisation Assessments

Posted 10-02-2017 09:26
    Hi!

So here goes a controversial statement, possibly. I do not assess the actual scene work or performance. Improv is so different from anything else I feel putting constraints/ pressure to meet a specific standard on an improvisor makes them think too much. I have found my kids have more fun and actually improvise better when I assess the analysis of a scene rather than the scene performance. I have been improvising for over 20 years professionally so I am coming from a place of making may mistakes.  I have made many rubrics and tossed them because they don't work. Once I started assessing the feedback is when my class started blooming    If students can analyze their  improv work then they become better.

To ensure that District 70 students experience learning that prepares them to live and work in the 21st Century

• 3.  RE: Improvisation Assessments

Posted 10-02-2017 09:28
      |   view attached
    Here is the form I use. Hope this helps.

------------------------------
    Frieda Gebert
    Drama and Speech
    Boyle County Schools
    Danville, KY

Attachment(s)

docx
    IMPROV SCORING.docx   69 KB 1 version

• 4.  RE: Improvisation Assessments

Posted 10-02-2017 14:21
    I do a quiz on the 5 rules of improvisation I teach at the start to ground the performers. There are more than 5 but I focus on just 5.

Brittany Taylor
    Drama Director
    Yorktown,VA

• 5.  RE: Improvisation Assessments

Posted 10-02-2017 19:17