Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Falling Snow

Posted 11-24-2018 12:30
    Tis the season for snow...
    I am new to my school which has no auditorium. We have a fairly large theatre classroom where we have tried our best to mimic a black box. I need snow for our December show, but I am not at all sure how to approach it in this space. I familiar with snow slings and snow machines, but I have always had rigging available above the performance space. My classroom has a drop ceiling about 20' up. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

------------------------------
    Greg Franklin
    Denver NC

• 2.  RE: Falling Snow

Posted 11-25-2018 14:31
    https://mywonderfall.com/product-category/wonderfall-xl/
    Bought 75 lbs of snow from them for our fall show. Wonderul service and product...They have snow,  snow machinse...can fill small or large needs...
    Good luck

Ginger Latimer
    Performing Arts Chair/ Theatre Director
    Madera CA

• 3.  RE: Falling Snow

Posted 11-26-2018 21:37
    Goog evening,

we we rented the silent storm machines for Wizard. I had them at 18ft and it was beautiful. Here is the pic.

JgUELozNTZWWZx95Nle7_IMG_0074.PNG

Crit Fisher
    Lighting/Sound Designer
    New Albany High School

• 4.  RE: Falling Snow

Posted 11-27-2018 08:09
    Our set guy built two snow machines that we used for It's a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th street. It was easy to use and were hung above the stage. We used PVC piping to create the "shaker" machine.

James Fry
    Director of Student Life and the Malvern Theatre Society
    Malvern, PA

• 5.  RE: Falling Snow

Posted 11-28-2018 15:57

Hi Greg –

Most anything that you can rent or purchase is going to require some sort of rigging!