Open Forum

View Only

Teaching Theater Without Formal Training

• 1.  Teaching Theater Without Formal Training

Posted 12-02-2020 19:05
    Hello,

I am currently a native English teacher at a private university affiliated elementary school in Taiwan. This year I started a drama club with my students. My colleagues thought I was crazy as in previous years I had a Minecraft club with over 20 students and with the drama club I went down to 10, and we are paid based on the number of students in the club. But for me, it was a challenge and a passion. And I have loved every moment. No matter how bad my day is, I always look forward to the drama club on Wednesdays. My little group is even going to perform for the student recruitment day (an audience of over 500) this Saturday with a story they came up with.

I have decided I want to try to pursue this more, however I have no formal training in theater. I was a thespian in high school and had lead and supporting lead roles in several shows. I also worked at Disney as a Jungle Cruise skipper (essentially a one-person show) as well as a guided tour guide (a 4.5-5 hour one-person show).

I have purchased some basic textbooks on theater like, The Creative Spirit: An Introduction to Theater Fifth Edition by Stephanie Arnold and The Stage and the School by Harry Schanker and Katharine Anne Ommanney. I also bought a few books about teaching theater to children. I am currently enrolled in Moreland University which is an online teacher prep course that also helps your obtain your US teaching license. I plan on taking the Arizona subject teacher test in theater to become certified.

I would like to ask the community if you have any additional suggestions to bolster my credentials given that my formal education is a BA and MA in anthropology and not theater.

Thanks for reading and your suggestions.

Click here for a link to my drama club's google site with photos and videos. If you are interested.

------------------------------