Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Storage-or lacktherof

Posted 12-23-2018 23:22
    I have a small storage closet at the school to house props, costumes and other theatre items. I already have to be really careful about what I choose to keep from each show because of the lack of space. Just before break, my administration told me they would like me to further reduce my inventory so the space can be shared. I don't have a large budget, we don't even have an actual theatre space, so the items I've kept have been the most expensive and easiest to reuse. What can I do? Just start keeping things in my own basement? How much storage space do you all have? Does anyone get by without any and how? I'm a middle school teacher if that helps for comparison. TIA!

------------------------------
    Laurel Reiley
    IN

• 2.  RE: Storage-or lacktherof

Posted 12-24-2018 08:36
    I store all of my things at my house in the basement.  At both the elementary and middle school, I use a closet that I put props, costumes, and a few sets into during the last 3 weeks of rehearsals.  Both of my performance spaces are used by other groups and I don't want to risk losing things that I have had to find or made.  I may be being overly concerned but it has prevented any problems.  At most schools, space is at a premium.  One year, as an inclusion special education teacher, since I didn't "need" a room of my own, my file cabinet and locking cabinet were kept in the teachers bathroom.  Choose your battles carefully and make friends with the person who is going to share the space. Hang in there.

Janet Cain
    Cincinnati OH

• 3.  RE: Storage-or lacktherof

Posted 12-24-2018 10:53