Open Forum

View Only

Assitance Needed

• 1.  Assitance Needed

Posted 01-29-2017 16:30
    Good Afternoon

I am new to this forum.  I have accepted a job as a long term sub for a middle school theater arts class.  My background is in history and I have very little experience in this area.  I was approached by the school staff about this position because they need someone in the class who can control and organize the students.  They have been without a permanent teacher since November and have subs changes often.  I want to be able to offer the students some stability in their class and accepting this position until it can be filled seemed like the best option. 

I am not one to pass up a challenge and this appears it will be a really tough one.  The school has virtually not curriculum for the class and the students have been coloring or doing other classes assignments during this time.  I want to change this.  I want to give the students a reason to come to class and something to look forward to.  I am not opposed to any suggestions.

Can anybody out there share some lesson plans, ideas, projects, layouts - Anything actually???  I am willing to accept any ideas y'all might have that will make this class something other than a study hall period.  My email is jeffreyfjohnson@yahoo.com

Thank you
    Jeff Johnson

------------------------------
    Jeff Johnson
    Garland TX

• 2.  RE: Assitance Needed

Posted 01-29-2017 17:46
    Hi Jeff,

I'm sure others will answer and assist with plans & ideas.

I'd just like to point out that you might also want to post/search on the Middle School forum. From the 'Community' tab on the blue ribbon above, click and then choose 'Browse Communities.' Once there, join the middle school theatre group and then choose the Discussion page there.

Michael McDonough
    TRW Director of Amateur Licensing
    New York

• 3.  RE: Assitance Needed

Posted 01-30-2017 07:45