Open Forum

View Only

Building A Set - First Time Theatre Teacher

• 1.  Building A Set - First Time Theatre Teacher

Posted 10-01-2015 10:44

Help!

I am a first year theatre teacher and I feel like I'm drowning. We are currently trying to mount a production of Arsenic and Old Lace and are gearing up to build the set only I have no idea how to even build a set. It's been ages since I took stagecraft in college and I feel terribly lost. We have no wood shop teacher on campus (he retired last year and they didn't hire a new one) and I don't think I have a lot of support from the students' parents. Where do I get the wood? What tools do I need? Can someone push me in the right direction?

------------------------------
    Amanda Herrera
    Theatre Teacher
    Don Antonio Lugo HS

• 2.  RE: Building A Set - First Time Theatre Teacher

Posted 10-01-2015 11:24

You might start here:

Theater Set Designs from ScenoGraphics

Scenographics remove preview
    Theater Set Designs from ScenoGraphics
    At ScenoGraphics, we specialize in providing directors and theater groups with resources to build their own sets from scratch. Our core product, Design-Pak©, consists of easy-to-follow blueprints, color renderings and illustrated detailed instructions for building sets for plays and musicals. Schools and community theaters at home and abroad rely on Design-Paks to save time, work, and money.
    View this on Scenographics >

John Perry
    Drama Instructor
    Atherton High School
    Louisville KY

• 3.  RE: Building A Set - First Time Theatre Teacher

Posted 10-01-2015 15:50

Are you near a Lowe's or Home Depot? Of course, it depends on the store, but their staff can be amazing and they carry all the supplies. I have wandered into Lowe's so many times with weird theatre things I needed to create but had no idea where to start. They have always jumped at the opportunity to help. 

Before you go: