Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Teaching Stage Tech Online

Posted 10-22-2020 12:32
    This is my first year teaching Stage Tech and well . . .   RIght now they are learning Sketch Up since they all have Chromebooks at home.  I amlooking for other ideas of how to teach stage tech virtually.

Any suggestions would be much appreiciated.

Thanks,

------------------------------
    Scott Bier
    Whittier, CA

"Your fear of looking stupid is holding you back."

• 2.  RE: Teaching Stage Tech Online

Posted 10-22-2020 13:03

What units do you have in your syllabus? Is this an introduction course, or a more advanced course? What would your class be like if you were in person (f2f)?

~Dave

David Simpson
    Performing Arts Center Manager
    East China Schools
    East China MI

• 3.  RE: Teaching Stage Tech Online

Posted 10-22-2020 16:29
    Check out the Matt Kizer Light Lab 
    https://scenicandlighting.com/lightlabs/
    He has created some virtual light labs so students can play with lighting and there's some pretty cool short videos about tech theatre that might be useful. 

I also have students create projects (mostly props) from elements they can find at home. 
    In addition, I have the students do a scavenger hunt - I give them a props list and a budget and there job is to find each of the props on the list and stay within budget. That's a pretty cool project that gives them something hands on 

Just remember - there's more to tech than scenery. If you open it up to other tech elements it helps a lot. 
    Good luck

Tracie Folger
    Grayslake IL

• 4.  RE: Teaching Stage Tech Online

Posted 10-23-2020 12:06