Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Festival Competition Pieces

Posted 09-22-2021 20:27
    I need some insight/advice.

I have been directing for 20 years but have only had an actual ITS Troupe for three years.  The first year we went to festival we just were observers. The second we had groups participate in Thespys and they did well.  Last year was all virtual . . .  And now, this year I have a LOT of kids interested in going and participating in Thespys.  How do you most Troupes decide who gets to participate in events when there can only be two per event? Seniority? Talent? Preparedness? I seem to have kids wanting to partner up (for duets and scenes) based on friendships but not necessarily matched talent . . .and I have students wanting to do solos/monologues who maybe aren't the strongest in the Troupe . . .  How much is this normally a director's decision and how much do you all leave it up to the kids to work it out? 

------------------------------
    Toni Thomas
    English Teacher, Theatre Director
    Ogemaw Heights High School

• 2.  RE: Festival Competition Pieces

Posted 09-23-2021 08:02
    We do not participate in Thespy's but do a similar state competition in NJ.  I also have more students than spots almost every year.  I start by having each actor indicate their interest by putting their name(s) down under all categories they would like to compete in.  Sometimes I am able to "spread the wealth" and allow everyone to compete in at least one category they signed up for.  If that's not an option, I will either have auditions for that category and/or use seniority to decide.

Laura Russo
    Teacher/Director of Theatre Arts
    Chatham High School

• 3.  RE: Festival Competition Pieces

Posted 09-24-2021 07:57