Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Into the Woods Questions

Posted 10-08-2018 08:11
    I am at a small-ish school and I am trying to figure out which musical to do for Spring.
    I really have my heart set on Into the Woods. The kids love it, there is no dancing(I am a choir teacher), and I feel the set and costumes would be relatively easy to figure out.

Can anyone shed light on these issues:

1. I have very few guys. I know I can make the Big Bad Wolf female. Does the narrator have to be male, and does he/she have to sing?  Has anyone ever made Jack a female?

2. I know the music isn't easy, but what has been your experience with it?  Also, does it have a full performance accompaniment CD?

3.  Can I cut anything from the show to make it shorter?

Also, if anyone has suggestions for other shows please let me know!  I only had around 20 people audition last year, but that show went really well so hopefully I will get more people this year.

Thanks!

--
    Sara Giambalvo
    Vocal Music Director
    Speech and Debate Coach, Theatre Manager
    Herculaneum High School, Senn-Thomas Middle School

NOTE: This electronic mail message contains information that is or may be (a) legally privileged, confidential, proprietary, or otherwise protected by law from disclosure, and (b) intended only for the use of the addressee(s) named. If you are NOT the intended recipient you are hereby notified that reading, using, copying, or distributing any part of this message is strictly prohibited. If you ARE the intended recipient or an addressee, you are hereby notified that copying, forwarding or in any other manner distributing any part of this message is strictly prohibited. If you have received this electronic mail message in error, take the steps necessary to delete the message completely from your system and contact the sender.

• 2.  RE: Into the Woods Questions

Posted 10-08-2018 09:39
    Before changing any genders, check with MTI for permission.