Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Stagecraft Class Sizes?

Posted 05-14-2017 18:43

Feeling a push for larger and larger classes, I'm doing some research about the size of stagecraft classes at other high schools.

If you have a stagecraft course at your school, how many:
    -students attend your school?
    -sections of stagecraft are taught?
    -students are in each section of stagecraft?

And what is the highest number of students that you have ever had in a section?  How did it go?

------------------------------
    SydneyThiessen
    Fine & Performing Arts Coordinator and Technical Director
    Reynolds High School
    Troutdale OR

• 2.  RE: Stagecraft Class Sizes?

Posted 05-14-2017 23:44
    Hi, my high school has two Stage Tech classes, and each have around 80 students.

Sierra A La Rue
    Thespian Troupe 2129

• 3.  RE: Stagecraft Class Sizes?

Posted 05-15-2017 08:56
    Hello.

I am a veteran teacher of thirty-six years. I think even a class of twenty-five can become unsafe. Safety in technical theater and stagecraft classes has to be given top consideration. There are also OSHA standards that must be met to keep the school within the limits of the law.

Keep designing and keep it safe.

Donnie Bryan
    Department Chair for Visual and Performing Arts
    Nashville TN

• 4.  RE: Stagecraft Class Sizes?

Posted 05-15-2017 06:14
    Hello,
    I have taught Technical Theatre / Stage Craft at my school for the past 10 years.  I have one section that is combined all levels.  I have had great support from the administration to cap the class at 25 for safety and resource concerns.  I did once have a class of almost 40.  We were not able to do very many hands-on activities because of space, resources, and safety concerns.  Needless to say, it was not a great experience for me or the students.

Gary Hicks
    Atlanta GA

• 5.  RE: Stagecraft Class Sizes?

Posted 05-15-2017 07:19
    Hi Sydney,