Open Forum

View Only

High School Musical or something else???

• 1.  High School Musical or something else???

Posted 11-02-2017 08:49
    I am a choir teacher who has been given the task of doing an entire full-length musical on my own... This is my first year running a musical, and I really am looking for something that would be easy, and inexpensive.  We do not have much of a budget, but we have a great theatre.  I was thinking High School Musical for crowd appeal, virtually no costumes to purchase, and easy set.  The idea does sort of make me cringe though.  How do we feel about High School Musical, and are there other options I should consider?

• 2.  RE: High School Musical or something else???

Posted 11-02-2017 11:07

This will be an exciting time for you!! Your kids will love performing whatever you choose, and your audience will be people who love your students, so they will love your performance.  

Some things you might want to think about.
    -If you do High School Musical, you should probably be comfortable choreographing big dance scenes.  
    -If you choose a traditional or well-known musical, you will probably be paying $1500.00 plus in royalties, even if you are performing in a small theatre.  (Musical royalties vary depending on the size of the auditorium, how much you charge for tickets, etc)
    -If you would like a less expensive option, publishers such as Brooklyn Publishers, Dramatic Publishing, and Playscripts have musicals which are quite inexpensive to perform.  If you are worried about "name appeal," you will find several titles which have adapted familiar stories and added music